Hello! First off thank you for making ObservableHQ, it is absolutely amazing!
I am in the situation where I have created a notebook and made it public, but I have now been informed that it contains information that should not be public.
I see in Making accidentally published notebook private again that there is a 24-hour limit on unsharing a notebook. Why is this the case?
Once published, a notebook can be imported by other people — and their code can start to depend on yours — something that we don’t want to break.
However, this logic seems odd to me for two reasons:
- ObservableHQ must give users the ability to remove their public data when they wish, and indeed I can do this by deleting the notebook, making a breaking change to the notebook, or even deleting my account. So putting a time limit on unsharing doesn’t remove the problem of code breaking, it just gives a poorer UX for the user who created the notebook. The stability contract is between the user who created the notebook and the user using it.
- Whilst it is a core feature of ObservableHQ, the vast majority of notebooks are not imported by other notebooks.
I could see a case for a popup “Are you sure? Other notebooks may depend on this notebook”, but preventing unsharing does not seem ideal to me.