Newbie's questions: Notebook names, saving, and publishing

I’m just getting started and there’s a lot in the UI that isn’t obvious to me. I’ve made some errors, and I don’t know how to clean them up!

1. My notebooks are always “Untitled.” How can I change that?

2. When I make a new notebook, its name is “Untitled,” and so it over-writes my existing “Untitled,” and I lose all my work! If I can rename notebooks I could avoid this. Better yet, if the new notebook was named “Untitled2”, then “Untitled3”, and so on.

3. Hoping to save my little test notebook with a name, I pressed “Publish”, hoping that would give me the option. Instead, it publicly published my notebook. Not realizing that, I pressed it again! I now have two completely useless tiny notebooks in the published area. I know from How to unpublish a notebook? that you don’t allow us to unpublish, for good reason, but I think it’s valuable to get rid of junk notebooks like these. Can you get rid of them for me? Both have the same name - you’ll never guess it! - “Untitled.” Even better: is there a way for me to delete them myself?

Thanks!

-Andrew

2 Likes

Hi Andrew,

Sure - so:

The title of a notebook is whatever is the header in the first cell: when you create a notebook, it’ll look like:

Editing ‘Untitled’ here to anything else will set the name of the notebook to that text.

Re: overwriting - let me know if there’s a more specific example, but generally notebooks won’t overwrite each other: for instance, you have two published notebooks named Untitled, one at https://beta.observablehq.com/@blueberrymusic/untitled/2 and the other at https://beta.observablehq.com/@blueberrymusic/untitled. Future notebooks named the same thing will follow the same URL pattern (untitled/3…) We’re explicitly allowing people to have more than one notebook named the same thing, so this is disambiguated at the URL level rather than restricted for people.