Adapting the EIA Example

Hi all, I am new to Observable and would like to start learning by adapting the US Electricity Grid example (U.S. electricity grid). I could not find a tutorial on this so, here we go: What is the best way to set up this example? I initialized an empty observable project folder and copied the files from the github repo (framework/examples/eia at main · observablehq/framework · GitHub) into said folder but receive errors when running npm run dev.

‘Error [ERR_MODULE_NOT_FOUND]: Cannot find package ‘dotenv’ imported from /Users/Fatih/Documents/data_science/DS Portfolio/Observable/energy_dashboard/docs/data/eia-ba-hourly.csv.js’

In python (where I code) I would just install these packages. Dont know what to do here.

Any advice much appreciated!

It should work if you also copy package.json, which lists the dependencies that we want npm to install, like dotenv on line 11:

1 Like

Thanks, @Fil ! I have copied the package.json file but am receiving error messages. When I run npm install, I get the following error:

Fatih@MacBook-Air energy_dashboard % npm install
npm ERR! code EUNSUPPORTEDPROTOCOL
npm ERR! Unsupported URL Type “link:”: link:…/…

npm ERR! A complete log of this run can be found in:

Sorry, I am a blood newbie with npm…
My npm --version (10.1.0)

Ah… now this error is because we’re building the examples from within the framework repo, using code from that repo (that is what the “link:” reference does).

For now you can replace that line by

"@observablehq/framework": "1"

but we’ll need to find a way to make this easier.

Thanks, for getting back to me. For absolute beginners like me, a step-by-step guide to get the examples running would be great!
I am still receiving the same error message as before

Error [ERR_MODULE_NOT_FOUND]: Cannot find package dotenv

and other packages (d3) as well.