Removing Metadata shown below the force-directed graph

Dear All,

Is there any way I can remove the metadata shown below the force-directed graph?
I had downloaded the project as “Download Code” in which inspector.css and runtime.js were included.

I didn’t find any lines of code which displaying such metadata information in any of JavaScript file.

I attached the screenshot.

Please kindly help advise how to remove that metadata.

with Metta,
Ye

In the included index.html change the following line:

const main = runtime.module(define, Inspector.into(document.body));

to

const inspect = Inspector.into(document.body);
const main = runtime.module(define, name => {
  if (name === "chart") return inspect(name);
});
1 Like

Hi Mootari,

It works as expected. Thank you very much for the valuable information and help.

As I am new to front-end development, I have some questions related to the observable notebooks code.

1. How can I run the downloaded source code as pure JavaScript without including the observable code?

2. Is there any dependency conflict if I use “runtime.js” in my web development?

3. How can I run the downloaded source code without runtime.js?

With Metta,
Ye

The short answer is, you can’t. Observable’s platform and Runtime provide several conveniences that speed up prototyping and exploration, arguably the most important ones being its reactive dataflow and its Standard Library.

That in turn means that you cannot remove this layer quite as easily, as you’ll have to add back boilerplate code that Observable helps to avoid.

Not necessarily. :slight_smile: Many of Observable’s users directly integrate compiled notebook modules into their applications, even React. One area where you can run into problems is bundling. Notebooks often rely on external libraries that are pulled in from a CDN (including many of the helpers exposed through the Standard Library), and bundlers may not be able to detect those dependencies.