Onboarding experience feedback + more prominent documentation/manual

First of all… I have to say that my experience with Observable thus far has been amazing! I am somewhat new to Javascript— I’ve started learning it more seriously in Jan 2019. It’s been a really helpful “sketchbook” environment for me and has been such a powerful learning tool. I used it in my coursework with many of my classmates—a swath of collaborators in both undergrad and grad programs at Columbia University. I think ObservableHQ .com has a very special place in the future of the Web, and the Jupyter analogies are a really big step forward for more widespread use. The “welcome” helper module on the logged-in homepage is a great addition.

That said, it has not been an entirely smooth journey, and as powerful and exciting as Observable has been, I’ve observed (no pun intended) a lot of things from my classmates and my own experiences with the app.

Caveat emptor: I am somewhat of a newcomer, but I believe many newcomers are prone to the following mistakes and misconceptions that come with learning a messy and historied ecosystem like JS in 2020.

1. The onboarding experience/“hidden dependencies” in prerequisites

– See " @sliminality/ply on GitHub for the reference on “hidden dependencies”

Most of the people I know who used Observable came to the app wanting to learn D3 and to create data visualizations—after all, I used Observable in my courses for data vis (alongside Tableau) and data science (alongside SciPy+Jupyter, R). However, it’s not entirely obvious for new users that “learning D3” requires() expertise in a boatload of pre-requisites: Javascript, HTML, CSS, SVG, (maybe even Canvas), and even ObservableHQ** itself, which behaves similarly to but is not identical to Javascript.