Javascript newbie help

Hi all!

I know this is a long shot & that I might be completely out of place, but here goes -
I’m a health economist who’s always been obsessed with better data visualization. I’m not a total newbie when it comes to coding – I have a fairly good understanding of HTML and CSS, and I use Stata and some R for work. But Javascript, except for some really basic courses, is new for me. And so is the concept of Observable.

However, I love the idea of this platform so much that I decided I’d try my best to get the hang of it and tailor it to my work. I want to (1) learn all I can about d3 (2) eventually be able to not only visualize data, but also dynamically create models on Observable (i.e. basic forecasts, etc).

Following Firefox’s developer course on Javascript, though, I noticed that Observable’s syntax is somewhat different from the normal way. I read through a few of the introductory posts, but I’m now turning to you for help. Given my objectives and my (in)experience, what do you guys think is the best path for me to learn Javascript aimed at d3 and Observable?

Thanks in advance!

blan

Hi Blan.

“What is the best path to learn JavaScript for d3?” is a question with many answers. There are books. There are blocks. There are tutorials. There are docs.

But, we are very much hoping to build Observable into a place where you can learn these things directly on Observable itself — a large part of the point is to build a community where folks can share notebooks, fork each other’s examples, and learn and import from other sketches.

Observable’s syntax is only slightly different from JavaScript, and is executed in only a mildly different way. Notebooks are largely compatible with all the existing JavaScript that’s out there. For the best information on the details, our Introduction series of notebooks is where it’s at.