New to Observable (turning working code into a notebook)

All, I am working through Elijah Meeks D3 in Action Second Edition examples, and I thought it would be neat to try to create some of the visualizations inside an observable notebook. As I am new to Observable I am having difficulty decomposing working code from my desktop into blocks of code in an observable notebook.

I figured this would be a good opportunity to learn observable better. If I publish my notebook would someone mind taking a look, and giving me some suggestions.

Thank you

Graig

I have published the notebook at: https://beta.observablehq.com/@graig82/d3-in-action-3-5

You’re never calling the overallTeamViz function.

I’ve made some other changes which I cannot explain why they are necessary in this fork (comments added where I made changes) and now at least the circles render. I don’t have more time right now. Maybe it’s a start anyway.

Your code is a little hard to follow because the indentation is not consistent. If you fix it, it will be easier for people to help out.

You’re code is already quite good, but there are some key points to take note of:

• In your soccerViz cell, the overallTeamViz function is currently never run. I suggest simply removing the surrounding function, letting the code run once, when the cell evaluates.
  • Instead of d3.select("svg"), you can just use svg, and write svg.append('g')... etc. The rest of that statement is correct, including the .data(data).enter().append('g')... stuff.
  • Instead of making a new selection like you do in var teamG = d3.selectAll("g.overallG"); (which I think should work too, BTW) — you may want to consider ‘saving’ your previous selection like so:
    var teamG = svg.append("g")
                   .attr("id", "teamsG")
                   .attr("transform", "translate(50,300)")
                   .selectAll("g")
                   .data(data)
                 .enter()
                   .append("g")