Observable Javascript is not working in browser

I am new to both Observable and D3. I am currently trying to learn D3 and trying to see how some of the javascript works in Observable notebook.

For example, I wrote this in a notebook

When I run the same code in the browser, it returns an error

But browser expects the following

Do I understand, that whatever javascript works in the observable notebook may not be suitable in the browser and vice versa.

I desire to simply copy the js from vs studio code and paste it here. Is it possible or I have to keep on tweeking the same code here and there to satisfy the requirement depending on browser or observable notebook?

const height = 720;
const width = 1280;
const glblDim = {
    height: height,
    width: width,
    margin: {
        top: 20,
        right: 20,
        bottom: 30,
        left: 50
    }
};
1 Like

Hello smpa01, great question!

Observable has a special syntax that is used to enable reactivity between cells (and some other functionality), and not everything that is written into a cell can be considered “vanilla” JavaScript and run in the browser.

Take a look at this video for more information: JavaScript and Observable / Observable / Observable as well as this notebook: Observable’s not JavaScript / Observable / Observable

I hope this clarifies things and let me know if you need help with figuring out how to transform the contents of a cell into vanilla JavaScript!

1 Like

Thanks @duaneatat for those links, I will keep on studying them and have them handy.

I prefer working in VS Studio Code and I need to build visuals that will render in a browser.

The only reason why I came to Observable primarily (may discover some other fantastic Observable capabilities moving forward in my journey, who knows !!!) is notebooks are so handy to test out some portion of d3 code on the fly (rather than doing console.log in the browser), such as

scaleX = d3.scaleLinear()
.domain([1,12])
.range([0,1210])