How to Transition Chart based on datepicker

Hi,
I’m trying to get this bar chart to transition when a new date is chosen from datepicker. I’ve set up the transition code how I think it should work but it just changes without the transition bit. I’ve done transitions before but for some reason, this is tripping me up.

Here is a link to the notebook.

Thank you for your time.

I think it’s due to the dependency between your cells. When you change the cell “day”, the cells “data” and “viewof riderchart” are recomputed. You surely would want to generate your chart once, and then only update it using its internal “updateChart” method (also: note that the argument “day” of this function is never used)

First of all I wanna say this is one of the trickiest patterns on Observable and you’re not alone! I’m still learning how to use it well myself, and I’ve been using Observable for years and I work here lol…

Severo’s right: because the whole chart depends on data, which depends on day, the whole chart gets destroyed and recreated whenever day changes, so it doesn’t even have a chance to transition.

I’ve made a few changes in this fork, which I just sent you as a suggestion so you can merge it: https://observablehq.com/compare/0dc83de85e454301@304...0559b22316a2e5c6@360

1. I’ve pulled out the default value of the datepicker ("2020-10-19", my birthday!) to a new cell called defaultDay.

2. I use defaultDay instead of day to compute data. That way, data doesn’t change when the datepicker changes. (If it did, then the whole chart gets blown away and remade every time, because it has all the initialization code that depends on data.)