How to convert Tidy Tree to straight Javascript plus d3

I’m interested in being able to leverage the code from Tidy Tree (TidyTree data viz) to produce a data viz to run in my Chrome browser.

I’m stuck though with code sections such as the following, which produce many Javascript errors:

chart = {
const root = tree(data);

let x0 = Infinity;
let x1 = -x0;
root.each(d => {
if (d.x > x1) x1 = d.x;
if (d.x < x0) x0 = d.x;
});

tree = data => {
const root = d3.hierarchy(data);
root.dx = 10;
root.dy = width / (root.height + 1);
return d3.tree().nodeSize([root.dx, root.dy])(root);
}

Of course, I understand that the order of things does not matter in Observable, but I do need to get the order right for a conversion to Javascript.

I think if I could get some help on this one, I’d be able to understand the process of conversion. Can you please provide some help? I’m new to Javascript and d3.

You can’t directly use Observable notebook code as JS, since …

So you’ll have to do some conversion. A while back, I linked to some (hopefully helpful) resources for Observable to JS porting in this post:

See particularly the two forum posts of mine I also linked there:

2 Likes

Ok - I have modified the downloaded source for Tidy Tree and placed that source in my own html file. I’m successfully loading the data from the flare-2.json data file. I get no errors, and I’ve verified proper loading of the data from flare-2.json.

However - I cannot get the tree to render in the browser (I’m using chrome). There must be some really simple step I’m missing. Here’s the modified source that’s no longer dependent on Observable:

<head>

<script src="https://d3js.org/d3.v6.min.js"></script>

<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="./inspector.css">

<style>

</style>

</head>

<body>

<script>

var data = d3.json(“http://localhost:8000/flare-2.json”);

var width = 954;

var tree = data => {

root.dx = 10;

};

chart(tree,data,width);

function chart(tree,data,width)

{