Gradient transition based on data rank values

Hello!

I am trying to transition the gradient stop attribute based on the rank values in the data. Right now, the transition is delayed by index values. I would like each curve with the highest rank to move faster than others each month and the subsequent curves to move slower based on their ranking. That way each curve should speed up or slow down based on their ranks each month.

Is there a way to achieve this?

Here’s a link to my notebook.

That looks difficult to me, but I’m not an expert.

This segment controls the rendering of the animation, the easing is currently linear so you might what to try changing that. GitHub - d3/d3-ease: Easing functions for smooth animation.

gradient.select("stop")
    .transition()
    .duration(10000)
    .delay((d,i)=>i*800)
    .ease(d3.easeLinear)
    .attr("stop-color",d=>color(d[0]))
    .attr("offset","100%")

The .duration(10000) could be changed for each line by making it a function
like .duration((d,i)=>i*2000)

1 Like

Could this notebook example be applied to my notebook? Would implementing the keyframes with svg transition help in achieving the path transition race? Any pointers would be helpful, thank you! Bar Chart Race, Explained / D3 / Observable

I’m not sure the datasets are alike. It might take a bit of data wrangling to get it converted but then it should work.

How did adjusting the duration go?

gradient.select("stop")
    .transition()
     .duration((d,i)=>time[i])
    .delay(200)
    .ease(d3.easeLinear)
    .attr("stop-color",d=>color(d[0]))
    .attr("offset","100%")

time = [8000,9000,8000,5000,3000] // these times could be computed or precalculated to suit your needs

Hello Brett!

Yes, I have wrangled my dataset to match the keyframes data structure. But somehow, the paths do not appear, I’m making an error in the data join part. Anyway, I’m still trying to figure it out.