Covid data scatter plot format

Noob here to D3. Covid Data Source Scatter Plot / C369 / Observable
I uploaded CovidData.csv
put into an array and plotted on a scatter plot.

A few requirements:
Draw a scatter plot with x-axis is Cases, y-axis is Deaths.
Draw x-axis, y-axis, and ticks on the plot
Draw all dots in ‘circle’ use color to represent data by
date

Issues:
Well my points are on the chart but it looks awful. I need help changing the size of the chart.
x and y axis seem to be correct. IDK what “ticks” on the plot is referring to.
How can I draw dots in “‘circle’ use color to represent data by
date”

1 Like

Hello and welcome to the platform! Have you seen the Plot Cheatsheets? They provide some good interactive examples of how to use Plot. You should be able to find some of your answers there. Take a look and let us know if you have any questions.

Thanks for this info. It is informative, but I am still struggling.

It looks like you’ve taken care of the following:

• Draw a scatter plot with x-axis is Cases, y-axis is Deaths
  • Draw x-axis, y-axis, and ticks on the plot

The ticks are the axis marks indicating some value. I’ll take a look at the colors requirement and follow up.

FYI, this is another good resource for documentation.

1 Like

There are a few issues going on here. To address your specific questions first:

• You can adjust the color using the fill channel, as you attempted. The problem with fill: Date is that Date doesn’t refer to the data, rather it’s a built in constructor. Thus, it’s the same for each data point, which is why you get the same color. To change the color, you want fill: "Date".
  • I’m not sure what you mean by your Ticks question, as you don’t refer to ticks at any point in your code.
  • You can change the size of the chart using the width and height channels, e.g.:
Plot.plot({
  width: width, // The built in width macro
  height: 500,
})