Given a link-shared notebook that has at least one like, publishing the notebook or disabling the link will remove all existing likes.
This notebook had 2 likes prior to publishing, and gained one new like after. The counter as well as the tooltip show only one like now.
While I’m not 100% sure, I’m fairly certain that I did not disable link sharing prior to publishing. However, I made several edits in between.