Understanding packages and require

Hi All,

I’ve just finished and published my first npm package. My intention is to be able to require it from Observable. I’m pretty new to the whole package business and find it hard to get my head round the whole thing. Unsurprisingly, my package is not yet set up properly to be required from Observable, but it does run correctly in Node.

Could anyone point me towards a good tutorial on this, or a template package that I can crib my package.json from, given what I’m trying to achieve? I find the whole build/transpile bit confusing, so I’m not sure I’m anywhere close with my configuration, despite having read quite a few tutorials.

Thank you!

Stu

Not an answer to your question (sorry), but there seems to be a typo in your package.json:

"module": "dist/moudle.js"

That file also doesn’t exist in the published package. I’m guessing that this is what’s breaking bundling services (like esm.sh and skypack).

Thanks, that’s a good start! :man_facepalming:

I’ve updated my package.json. I’m building using Parcel but I think I had it incorrectly configured, in that my option to build a module was being ignored. I believe I’ve corrected this.

However, I still have no joy importing: unpkg shows that there is a dist/module.js file though.

Any thoughts?

That’s to be expected, I think. Afaik unpkg isn’t a bundler, but will only rewrite import paths. Your d3 import would have to be bundled with your package.

esm.sh works though:

model = (await import('https://esm.sh/micro-table')).model

(You may want to make .model your default export.)

Interestingly, importing via skypack

import('https://cdn.skypack.dev/micro-table')

fails with the error

Error: [Package Error] "d3@v7.7.0" could not be built. (Imported by "micro-table").

But it appears that they have some server troubles - their search is broken as well.