Think I might be out of my league...but wow is this stuff cool!

Hi guys,

First, hats off to Mike Bostock. I’ve been trying to learn about data visualizations and it’s like all roads lead back to a lot of his work. The interactive data visualizations and the way they flow are like poetry in motion!

Observable and D3 are both very impressive tools, but I have to admit it feels a bit like Plato’s cave. I’ve been chained to wordpress for the last few years so I’m not sure I’ve got the foundation to just dive into Observable. A lot of the concepts, even with the tutorials, are like reading Greek to this noob.

I guess I should start by describing what I hope to accomplish, and then maybe you guys could help point me in the right direction. I’ve got a business that instructs entrepreneurs on how to start a brewing company - businesses like microbreweries, brewpubs, cideries, meaderies, etc. I’ve been doing it for about 5 years now and really enjoy the work (how could you not like working with beer? :slight_smile: )

I’m trying to enhance what I offer clients, and a big component of that is the research arm that I want to build. I want users to be able to source information (like local demographics and economics) from various APIs (like the census/open graph/etc) all in one place to allow them to build a business plan easier than ever. I’ve been able to successfully pull down the data from various APIs, and now I’m looking for creative ways to display it. I love the interactive and fluid appeal of D3, so I’ve just started to dig into that. As for my own background, I’ve been coding in a variety of languages for years, but rarely from scratch. I guess you could say I have amateur level knowledge of html/php/mysql/javascript/jquery/etc.