Return min, max, std (deviation), sum, mean, median of multiple columns

Hi all,

I am new in d3.js started learning two-three weeks ago and would like to know how I can aggregate multiple columns of a json file that is loaded?
Here is what I tried so far:

d3.json("https://data.cityofnewyork.us/resource/jb7j-dtam.json").then(loadData);
function loadData(data) {
      let aggregate = ExtentValues(data);
      return aggregate; 
}

const ExtentValues = function(data) {
      let min = d3.min(data, (fn) => {return [fn. year, fn.deaths, fn.death_rate, fn.age_adjusted_death_rate] });
      let max = d3.max(data, (fn) => {return [fn. year, fn.deaths, fn.death_rate, fn.age_adjusted_death_rate] });
      let mean = d3.mean(data, (fn) => {return [fn.deaths, fn.death_rate, fn.age_adjusted_death_rate] });
      let median = d3.median(data, (fn) => {return [fn.deaths, fn.death_rate, fn.age_adjusted_death_rate] });
      let sum = d3.sum(data, (fn) => {return [fn.deaths, fn.death_rate, fn.age_adjusted_death_rate] });
      let std = d3.deviation(data, (fn) => {return [fn.deaths, fn.death_rate, fn.age_adjusted_death_rate] });

return ["Minimum: ", min, "Maximum: ", max, "Mean/Avg: ", Number(d3.format(",.3f")(mean)), "Median: ", median, "Summary: ", sum, "Std: ",Number(d3.format(",.3f")(std))]
}

// The output  min and max returns the expected values, but the rest are NaN 

I browsed on internet to find out a solution for that, but there is not much information about.

Thanks in advance.

Best regards,
Kanatbek

Hi, I’ve loaded the dataset in this notebook Aggregating data / recifs / Observable to try and answer, but it would be useful to get more details about the type of results you are looking for.

To get the average age_adjusted_death_rate, for example, you could write

d3.mean(data, (d) => +d.age_adjusted_death_rate)

but this is an average across all rows, and I’m not sure about what it might mean as a statistics.