Plot: Adjust bar size and colour?

Hi, I am new to using Observable Plot, I’m looking to replace my Chart.js usage with this as it looks much nicer to use, however I’m stumbling at the first hurdle here.

I have a very simple bar chart created with Chart.js, it’s shown as a small chart on the page. It is the top bar chart in the screenshot.
My attempts to recreate this with Plot have so far made the bottom chart.

Everything is way too small, and I can’t figure out how to add colours.

I tried adding style: {fontSize: "32px"} but then the text just gets mashed together and the bars do not grow.

Is there something I’m missing? Is this simply not good for creating small charts?

And how on earth do I use colour schemes?

Thanks so much!

Do you have your attempt in a notebook? Could you share that so that we help with this? A few things that I want to try:

• that style is heading in the right direction… but along with that
  • marginLeft should be set
  • y label should be null
  • you can set the fill attribute of the bar to add color

No, I’m doing this on my own site using vanilla HTML.

The main important thing is the size of the bars and the text, any ideas how to change that? It’s too tiny.

Edit: here is the code:

<div id="myplot"></div>

<script type="module">

const ratings = [
	  {Rating: 0.5, Votes: 0},
	  {Rating: 1, Votes: 5},
	  {Rating: 1.5, Votes: 7},
	  {Rating: 2, Votes: 14},
	  {Rating: 2.5, Votes: 32},
	  {Rating: 3, Votes: 67},
	  {Rating: 3.5, Votes: 70},
	  {Rating: 4, Votes: 40},
	  {Rating: 4.5, Votes: 13},
	  {Rating: 5, Votes: 19},
	]

const plot = Plot.plot({
	   x: {padding: 0.4},   
	   color: { legend: true },
 	  marks: [
		 Plot.barX(ratings, {x: "Votes", y: "Rating"})
 	  ]
	 });

const div = document.querySelector("#myplot");
 	 div.append(plot);

</script>

Something like this?

(You can see the code in the notebook)