Modifying a Class instance - OpenLayers map.addInteraction()

Hello, I’m new to Observable and I believe that this question relates to some foundational understanding of how Observable treats class instances and their modification across cells.

I am working with this notebook: Geo Data Explorer 2.0

I am trying to add a Box Select interaction to my map instance.
The implementation looks like this, accross 3 cells:

Select = ol5.interaction.Select   //ref library function
select = new Select()             //create new instance of this interaction
map.addInteraction(select)        //apply it to my map

I created a smaller demonstration where I define a class and try to update an instance of it: Class Modification Test Cross Cells

In both cases when I try instance.update(updateValue) the cell returns undefined

Could anyone point me in the right direction or is there documentation that describes what I’m doing wrong?

Thanks!

The update method doesn’t return anything, so undefined is what you should expect from that cell.

To check that update did what it was supposed to, note that if you click on the Object in the output of the data cell (to refresh its display), the url has turned into www.myExample.com. You can also create a new cell containing just data.url, and you’ll see that it also displays www.myExample.com.

Indeed, the second-to-last cell shows

The current dataset is “example” @< www.myExample.com>.

which is further evidence that the url field has been changed.

Thanks bgchen, this makes total sense!

So ‘undefined’ is not necessarily cause for concern. Though I am probably still missing something to do with when a cell is reevaluated. I’ll keep exploring this in the Class Modification Test Cross Cells notebook.

Unfortunately this does not seem to be the source of my Box Select problems in OpenLayers which leaves me a bit stumped…

The console error when attempting the drag select (Ctrl+Drag) is pretty opaque to me: