Maintain force simulation on mouseover change

Hi, I made this notebook (Force Simulation / fiorins / Observable) and I’d like to add an effect like this (https://stamen.com) on mouseover on a circle. With mouseover I modify radius size of the circle but force simulation doesn’t work idk why, could you help me ?

I’ve sent you a suggestion here.

1 Like

Thank you @Fil you are awesome ! As you may have guessed, I’m new in d3, anyway I’m seeing the code and I have few questions:

• what’s the difference of your .join(“circle”) instead .enter().append(“circle”)
  • is event parameter (in node.on(pointerenter) and node.on(pointerout) mandatory or can it be removed?

selection.join is a simpler pattern, but there is no fundamental difference selection.join / D3 / Observable

event is now the first parameter of all the event listeners, see D3 6.0 migration guide / D3 / Observable for details.

Ok, is simulation.on(“tick”, …) triggered by simulation.tick() and executes code after it, right ?

So into the handler .on(eventName, …) besides simples events by JS [https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/Event] I could also use all of these simulation.function() by d3 [d3-force/README.md at main · d3/d3-force · GitHub] just like my ‘tick’ explanation that I wrote above ?

Furthermore with your code into pointerenter and pointerout how can I manage duration of transition like it was with mine .duration(350) for example ?

Also my curiosity, what do you mean by naming the variable d.t ? Did you choose a random letter or is it an abbreviation for a part of the circle ?

Thank you for all your help, I’m learning a lot.

In my version t is a value that goes from 0 to 1 to interpolate between “normal sized“ (0) and “mouseover sized” (0).