Loading a module to Observable

Hi! I am trying to load this module into Observable:

I’ve looked at this article and tried different tools including jsdelivr, unpkg and others but nothing seems to work. Could someone please help? Sorry if the question is too amateurish. I am new to JS and Observable.

Thank you,
Andrii

There is some limitation on what NPM module you can load to Observable Notebooks. Not all modules are compatible for loading over network and use in browser.

There is Requirements for require section in your linked article for more details about the limitation. But I don’t know Node/NPM enough either to determine if the module you want to load falls into the catagory.

I looked into this and sadly I couldn’t get it to work myself. The problem is how these modules are authored.

Normally what I recommend is using jsDelivr’s ES modules CDN which is the most modern, standard, and reliable way of loading npm modules into the browser. However, some libraries aren’t distributed in a way that makes them easily loadable in a browser — they assume you’re using Node.js and have some complicated toolchain of webpack or rollup or whatever to produce a bundle for you that works in a browser.

You can load deck.gl in a browser just fine like so using their pre-bundled dist.min.js:

import deckgl from "https://cdn.jsdelivr.net/npm/deck.gl/dist.min.js/+esm";

In Observable Framework, you can shorten this as:

import deckgl from "npm:deck.gl/dist.min.js/+esm";

In Observable notebooks, you can use an equivalent dynamic import:

deckgl = import("https://cdn.jsdelivr.net/npm/deck.gl/dist.min.js/+esm");