How to find underlying data for examples?

Hello! I’m new to observable and trying to learn how to specify bin values, but I’m having some trouble understanding how things work because I can’t seem to see the shape of the underlying data used in the example.

For example, when I navigate to Bin transform | Observable Plot, how would I see the shape of olympians that is being passed in to Plot.rectY? I can see the csv in the network tab, but it would be great if I could see the object as it is passed. Is there a way to do this?

Hi @miketalley

I created a quick notebook to show the Plot here.
In a notebook, you can just add a new JavaScript cell with the reference to olympians and you can inspect that in JSON format, or make a Data table of the data to inspect it. This is one of our built-in sample datasets so it is easy to demo examples and play with Plot.

This is great, thanks @Cobus ! Super fast reply too!

I have a follow-up question on this: is it possible to specify an interval value when using inconsistently spaced bins using rectY? I put together an example here that may make more sense.

My goal is to get the x axis values to display on the sides of the bins/bars instead of centered, and I am not sure how to specify the last value. When I manually run axisX after rectY it doesn’t seem to work.

Maybe something like this?

Plot.plot({
    y: { percent: true, label: "Percentage" },
    x: { label: "Value" },
    marks: [
      Plot.rectY(window.data.percentages, {
        x1: window.data.bins,
        x2: (x, i) =>  window.data.bins[i+1],
        fill: "steelblue",
        insetRight: 0.5,
        insetLeft: 0.5,
        tip: true,
      }),
      Plot.lineY(window.data.percentages, {
        x: window.data.bins,
        curve: "catmull-rom",
        stroke: "red",
        strokeOpacity: 0.5,
      }),
      Plot.axisX(window.data.bins),
      Plot.ruleY([0]),
    ]
});

Thanks @Fil ! This pointed me in the right direction!