How do I make a movable point that changes a D3 graph?

I’m new to data vis and javascript, so this is probably a pretty basic question. I want to have a moveable point whose x and y coordinates are 2 parameters for a graphed curved. Every frame the point is dragged, I want the curve to recalculate the line, but remain the same object. It would also be really nice for a curve to be automatically made for every point you start with, so you could define a set of points and automatically make a matching curve for each point.

Here is a link to my project:

You can see the point moves if you use the sliders, but I want to be able to click and drag the point to do the same thing.

Hi Lao!

I sent a suggestion to your notebook that shows how to programmatically control an observable input. Take a look at this “Synchronized Inputs” notebook for more information: Synchronized Inputs / Observable / Observable

The main idea is to set the viewof expected.value and viewof gamma.value and then dispatch the “input” events for them.

So your dragged function would look roughly like this (though it’d make sense to DRY this up using a separate set function the way it is recommended in the Synchronized inputs notebook):

function dragged(event, d) {
  d3.select(this)
    .attr("cx", () => {
      d.x = Math.max(0.001 + padding, Math.min(w - padding - 0.001, event.x));
      // Set the value of an input and then dispatch the "input" event
      viewof expected.value = xScaleInverse(d.x);
      viewof expected.dispatchEvent(new Event("input"));
      return d.x;
    })
    .attr("cy", () => {
      d.y = Math.max(0.001 + padding, Math.min(h - padding - 0.001, event.y));
      // Set the value of an input and then dispatch the "input" event
      viewof gamma.value = yScaleInverse(d.y);
      viewof gamma.dispatchEvent(new Event("input"));
      return d.y;
    });

///////////////////////
  update();
}
1 Like

Thanks for the suggestion. I will definitely look into synchronized inputs.