Embed chart function in a webpage

Hi there, Sorry for the probably stupid question, but after a few hours of Googling, I could not find an answer and as the post suggest I am new to Observable.

So, I am an R user. In R, I can use Shiny App to publish an app that allows the user to upload data (in my case, an XML file of financial data extracted from a very well-known database) and do some charting, allowing some interactivity. R makes the whole process pretty easy.

In my understanding, since observable is written in Javascript, I could get my code and embed it on an external website. Is that correct?

For example, If I had to work directly in JavaScript, I could create a function to allow the user to upload the file and parse it (I could even ask ChatGPT to do it). However, I do not understand how I can use the observable charts I created, for example, in my notebook. I saw some examples using Plotly.

However, I wonder if it was possible to use the native charting function of observable embedding the code directly or with minimal work (I do not mind importing external libraries) in a website. I cannot embed an Iframe since I need the user to be able to import his/her own data. Sharing the notebook is not an option either since the user might not have the required skills to work with a notebook. So, I need to use a stand-alone website that I publish somewhere.

Is it possible? What libraries should I import? Is there any example that explains how to pass from a working notebook with a chart to a website embedding the existing code?

At the moment, even a very basic example to point me in the right direction could be very helpful.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Kind regards,

Hi there, have you come across the advanced embeds documentation? It might help in this scenario Advanced embedding and downloading / Observable | Observable .

1 Like

Dear thehogfather,