Designated input vs normal (output/computed) variables

Hey!

First off, I’m really happy this project has come to be. It has a lot of creative as well as didactic potential, which are two fields I feel are often neglected in the ‘programmer world’ (leaving a wide and unnecessary gap between programmers, creative coders, and teachers). I’m interested in seeing how the project evolves.

Not really being a creative coder myself, I for some reason started working on a small ‘UI’ problem in one of my notebooks, trying to figure out whether this might have some nice solution, with viewof etc… Soon enough, though, I figured out the gist of the uphill battle I was fighting: although viewof gives an interesting potential for user’s inputting data, it is somehow still an ‘added feature’, or small hack, on top of an inherently static data flow. You write a bunch of variables, the system figures out the dependency graph, and the data flows through. (Of course it’s a bit more funky, because we’re working with javascript and the DOM, so every variable has an optional ‘extra’ visual output (dom nodes), and we can do all kinds of javascript trickey if need be.)

This is good and wonderful of course, but somehow I have the feeling that many people will try to do some kind of small UI thing, here or there, be it supporting their d3 creations, for some other thing, or just absent mindedly. And although I don’t think Observable should set it’s aim at actually working UI logic out at all, it seemed to me that there’s something we’re missing here, that might explain why I thought doing some UI thing might be fun/possible in the first place, but couldn’t.