Cut dependency graph

I am trying to work with an already reactive library (Vega) in Observable. My current progress is at https://beta.observablehq.com/@domoritz/rotating-earth. Vega has “signals” as reactive variables. In my example, I am trying to set the signal value to the reactive rotation value. The problem is that the Observable engine re-evaluates the Vega compile step because the dependency graph links the view and the rotation variable.

My question is how I could split the dependency graph or otherwise tell Observable not to re-evaluate the compile step when the rotation changes.

I feel that I should be able to use Generators.observe (https://beta.observablehq.com/@mbostock/more-deliberate-inputs) but I can’t quite wrap my head around how.

I’m no Vega expert, but it looks like in your current sketch, Vega waits for you to mouse back over the globe before updating with the new rotation position.

I find that if I change:

view.signal('rotation', rotation)

to

{
  view.signal('rotation', rotation);
  view.run();
}

… it updates as one would expect.

Well, looks like you know Vega better than I do :wink: view.signal('rotation', rotation).run() is a shortcut for what you wrote.

I am still trying to understand the dependency graph on Observable. Why don’t all cells that depend on the view get re-evaluated when the rotation changes? I would expect view.signal('rotation', rotation).run() to create a link between the view and rotation variables. Or is it that view is not dependent on rotation because it only gets modified but not set?

There still seem to be some bugs in the dependency evaluation in Observable. For instance, if I reload the example and then rerun the first code cell, I get some errors:

Here is a little experiment: https://beta.observablehq.com/@domoritz/dependency-experiment.